Top Achievers named at the 2021 PowerHousing Academy Scholarships and Awards

The 2021 PowerHousing Academy Scholarships and National Awards commenced with an address from the Federal Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Minister Jason Clare MP. The Hon Jason Clare MP commended PowerHousing Members for their exceptional work in the community housing space and congratulated those outstanding individuals and teams who were recognised at the 2021 PowerHousing Awards. The 2021 PowerHousing Academy Scholarships and National Awards are designed to showcase the individuals and teams in our membership who have gone above and beyond to support their colleagues and tenants during these unprecedented times. The Awards acknowledge our sector and the community at large, as well as highlighting the difference that PowerHousing members make to the lives of tenants, local communities, and our nation.

With almost 400 gathering in office events and home offices around Australia, and another 300 plus in remote and regional offices the event starts to the end the year on a high note to by celebrating the staff in our organisations that have brought people together, supported each other and done whatever they can to enhance the lives of their colleagues, tenants and the organisation – no matter how big or small.


The PowerHousing Academy Scholarship & Award recipients for 2021 are:


Category 1 – Outstanding Achievement Award & Scholarship

Winner – Professor David Adamson OBE (Compass Housing Services, NSW)

This award recipient demonstrates innovation and excellence in practice; works inclusively within the organisation; develops positive relations with tenants; works successfully with business and community partners. This award recipient makes a real difference over a sustained period to housing outcomes for tenants; they add value to the nominating organisation and their community; and make a positive contribution to the community housing sector.

The runner up nominee is Nicole Harvey from Pacific Link (NSW) and the highly commended nominees are Ruth Carpenter from Housing Choices Australia (VIC) and Susie Arthur from BHC (QLD).



Category 2 – Rising Star Award and Scholarship Immersion

Winner – Aleisha Wills (Housing Choices Australia, VIC)

 This award recognises an up-and-coming staff member who is not currently part of the Executive or Management team, but who has demonstrated potential through their work to be a leader in the organisation or sector. The award winner demonstrates the following characteristics, they are proactive and demonstrate initiative; work inclusively; and develop positive relations in the workplace and has leadership potential. They have a proven ability to enhance housing outcomes for tenants; add value to the nominating organisation and make a positive contribution to the community housing sector.

The runner up nominee is Ellie Barnes from BHC (QLD). The highly commended nominees are Sogol Rezaei from Women’s Housing Company (NSW) and Jimmy Le from BlueCHP (NSW).



Category 3 – Excellence in Customer Services and Business Support Award & Scholarship

Winner – Adam Cunningham (Link Wentworth – NSW)

This award recognises an individual whose contribution to their organisation has resulted in real benefits to the organisation in a business support role. The winner demonstrates innovation and excellence in practice and processes; works inclusively within the organisation; develops positive relations with stakeholders; works successfully with business partners.

The runners up are Joanne Mitchell from Hume Community Housing (NSW) and Urszula Lester from Unison Housing (VIC).



Category 4 – Tenant Engagement and Social Inclusion Award  

Winner – Post Care Pathways  (AnglicareSA – SA)

This Award is given to a team or organisation who demonstrates outstanding programs contributing to tenant enrichment, encompassing social inclusion within the local community, and resulting in community development. Award recipients have demonstrated innovation in practice, have provided sustainable social, economic and hosing outcomes for tenants, and has driven community development and social inclusion, all the while making a positive contribution to the community housing sector.

The runners up are Support Coordination Team from Housing Plus (NSW) and Online Engagement Program from Bridge Housing (NSW).



Category 5 – Program Leadership and Government Collaboration Award

Winner – Gibbons St, Redfern Project (SGCH, NSW)

This Award recognises a project or a program that demonstrates industry leadership and/or genuine innovation in partnership with a State or Commonwealth Government. The award recipients have demonstrated outstanding leadership within the organisation and with the partners, innovation and through the partnership have enhanced outcomes for their tenants and communities.

The runner up nominee are Coolamon Apartments from Churches of Christ (QLD) and Social and Affordable Housing Fund from Compass Housing Services (NSW).



Category 6 – Modernisation in a Built Form Development Award

Winners – Duke St, Coffs Harbour (Mission Australia Housing, NSW) and Fig Tree Terraces & Apartments (Junction Australia, SA)

This Award recognises a project or a program, including a new build or revitalisation, that demonstrates industry leadership and genuine innovation. The project demonstrates functional built form that has features of environmental sustainability, universal design and enhanced well-being.

The runner up is Spence on Light from Housing Choices Australia (VIC).



Category 7 – Business Partner Award

Winner – National Rental Development Program (NRDP) & Conscious Investment Management Partnership (Housing First, VIC)

This Award recognises a corporate partner, commercial partner or industry consultant working with a PowerHousing member to develop projects, construction developments or services that result in measurable improvements for the nominating organisation and positively contribute to the housing sector.

The runner up is Essential Worker Affordable Housing program – Partnership with Echo Realty from Evolve Housing (NSW).



Category 8 – Outstanding Sector Leadership

Winner – John Nicolades

The Outstanding Sector Leadership award is just one opportunity to acknowledge the amazing individuals who are driving change in the community housing sector and have demonstrated exceptional leadership in this space for many years. From the PowerHousing Board of Directors and our principal partner, JLL, this award is provided to an individual who has displayed outstanding leadership in the Sector over their career to date.



PowerHousing Australia would like to thank all of our Affiliates and offer our sincerest gratitude and appreciation to the award sponsors who made our awards possible; JLL, ANZ, CALUMO (an Insight Software), Everyone (a Division of Metricon), Harvey Norman Commercial Division, Karndean DesignFlooring, MRI, Simonds Homes. In addition to sponsoring our awards, our Award Sponsors have also facilitated the winners, runners up and highly commended scholarships that are presented to award recipients in the individual categories.